Wolf Theiss


Vienna, 10 June 2015 – Every year Wolf Theiss hosts the Wolf Theiss Award Ceremony and honours the author of an exceptional academic publication in the field of law. The Award, endowed with a prize of EUR 12,000, is presented to the winners at a festive ceremony in the firm´s Vienna office.

Since  the  first  award  in  2000,  numerous  authors  have  submitted  their  works  for
the  Wolf  Theiss  Award.  The  law  firm  presents  the  award  in  cooperation  with  the
Austrian   daily   newspaper  "Der Standard" and the publishing house "Neuer Wissenschaftlicher Verlag". The award honours outstanding publications on Austrian, European or international business law.

This year, the award was granted to two authors, whose high quality of work equally impressed the jury. The monetary prize of EUR 12,000 was shared by Dr. Julia Schmoll for her publication "Zulassung im Arzneimittelrecht. Entwicklung, Gegenstand, Verfahren, Reichweite" (on "Admission in Pharmaceutical Law, Development, Subject, Procedure and Scope") and Dr. Daniel Winfried F.E. Blum, BSc (WU) for his publication on "Derivative Finanzinstrumente im Etragssteuerrecht" (on "Derivative Financial Instruments and Income Tax Law").

In addition to the winners of the monetary prize, another publication titled "Der Eigentumsvorbehalt" (on "Retention on title") written by Univ.-Ass. Mag. Dr. Thomas Aigner was honoured with the Publication prize. His writing will be published in the NWV – "Neuer Wissenschaftlicher Verlag".

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Nicolas Raschauer presented the award to Dr. Julia Schmoll and stated: "With Julia Schmoll, a scientific genius has been born. Her writing focuses on the main key terms. The extraordinary benefit we can learn from her publication is that she closed a scientific gap owing to solve one or the other problem".

Wolf Theiss partner Benjamin Twardosz presented the award to Dr. Daniel Winfried F.E. Blum, BSc (WU) and emphasized the scientific effort of the young award winner: "With his work, Daniel Winfried F.E. Blum shows that he is a real attorney - he points out the legislative boundaries and underlines the problems."

In his laudation, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Karollus praised Univ.-Ass. Mag. Dr. Thomas Aigner and said: "It is a very laudable thing to say that Thomas Aigner didn´t try to deal with already existing questions, but rather brings attention to new and never raised ones." The Publication of Thomas Aigner is honoured with the Wolf Theiss Award as it is of novelty value, timeless and the public deserves to read such a great work". The jury members were: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Susanne Kalss, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Karollus, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Klicka, Univ.-Prof Mag. DDR. Eduard Lechner, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Nicolas Raschauer, Dr. Eric Frey from the Austrian daily newspaper "Der Standard", as well as Wolf Theiss partners Markus Heidinger and Kurt Retter.

Submissions for the 2016 Wolf Theiss Award are currently being accepted.

For further information please contact

Barbara Fürchtegott
Public Relations & Communications Manager
T. +43 1 51510 3808
Schubertring 6
1010 Vienna

Find a Lawyer